Skip to content ↓

Key Stage 4 ECDL

What will you learn about?

ECDL is the world’s number one IT user qualification—and the benchmark for digital literacy in educational systems around the globe.  ECDL equips students with the skills to use a computer confidently and effectively, building on existing knowledge and motivating further learning.

Qualification: BCS ECDL (QCF) 

QAN Code: 600/6943/0

Level: 2

Exam Board: ECDL

The qualification builds a more productive and efficient learner. The course promotes e-learning and automated exam testing to give confidence to all participants. ECDL Level 2 in Application Skills is a qualification that employers recognise and look for in school graduates.

The course is split into the following four exam units which will be conducted online:

  • Word processing
  • Spreadsheet software
  • Presentation software
  • Improving productivity using IT.


This qualification is the equivalent of a GCSE and is offered at Level 2. 

Level 2 enables students to gain grades A* to C. 

The four tier grading structure gives learners appropriate recognition for their efforts:

  • Distinction* 58 points (A*)
  • Distinction 52 points (A)
  • Merit 46 points (B)
  • Pass 40 points (C).

All four units are Exam based, carried out online, are externally marked and there is no coursework element. 

Other information:

During the course you will have access to lunch and after school support to help you prepare for each unit exam. 

You lessons will be used to teach you skills related to the unit topic and to practice exam techniques to help you develop the required knowledge for the course.