Skip to content ↓


"Governors have a clear understanding of the school’s strengths and areas that need to develop. They provide strong support for school leaders and challenge them to improve the school further" (Ofsted 2016)

The Governing Body is currently made up of 13 Governors, including the Headteacher.

The membership represents various groups with 2 parent governors, 1 teacher governors, 2 co-opted teacher governors, 1 LEA appointed governor, 6 co-opted governors and the Head teacher. 

Their function is to support the Headteacher and staff of the school in achieving agreed aims and objectives.  Governors work with the staff of the school through a committee structure and their task is the formulation of policy and the monitoring and evaluation of outcomes.

We pride ourselves at Mosslands on having a breadth of experience on the Governing Body, where everyone has a useful role and contribution to make. The affairs of the Governing Body are conducted in a businesslike and official manner.

We do not operate a committee structure. All governing body meetings are full governing body meetings. 

Chair of Governors: - Mr Pete Grady

Vice Chair of Governors: - Mr Tony Dean

Clerk of Governors: - Diane Addison

Any emails for Mosslands School Governors to be addressed


Governor Role Name Nominating Authority First Appointed Term Start Term End
Co-opted Governors Mr Jim Backinsell   14-Nov-16 21-Oct-20 20-Oct-24
Mr Tony Dean    30-Jun-18 30-Jun-18 29-Jun-22
Mr Pete Grady    07-May-18 07-May-18 06-May-22
Mr Paul Mylchreest    10-Feb-20 10-Feb-20 09-Feb-24
Ms Jo Robbins (Staff)   16-Mar-20 16-Mar-20 15-Mar-24
Mr Emlyn Wright  Governors 23-Sep-20 23-Sep-20 22-Sep-24
Mr David Wylde    10-Feb-20 21-Oct-20 20-Oct-24
Mr Mark Inman (Staff)   16-Mar-20 16-Mar-20 15-Mar-24
Vacancy (1)         
Vacancy (2)        
Staff Governor Mr Philip Lightwing   16-Mar-20 16-Mar-20 15-Mar-24
Parent Governor Miss Trisha Hanson    16-Mar-20 16-Mar-20 15-Mar-24
Mr Robert Kelly    14-Nov-16 16-Mar-20 15-Mar-24
Local Authority Councillor Karl Greaney    30-Mar-20 30-Mar-20 29-Mar-24
Headteacher Mr Adrian Whiteley